On Momentum

30 October, 2013

writing

basketball player dunkingAnyone who says it’s good to take a break from blogging is lying. Maybe if you blog to excess. But I’ve taken a 3 month break and it’s only languished because I’ve lost my momentum. And that’s a big factor for a blog, as well as for any other effort in life. Let’s take the momentum in a project, for example. I have a client who I know every time I dive into a project with him will build up this incredibly fruitful head of steam–he and I share excited phone conversations, toss around great idea after great idea, brainstorm, and generate a significantly strong strategy. But in the end, it’s all for naught. Why? Because once I’ve rushed around to get my writing done, it’s weeeeeeeeeeks before I hear back. Weeks in which our energy fizzles, ideas wither, and the whole shebang just loses its get-up-and-go.

I “get” being busy.

I know what it’s like to be swamped.

But for goddsakes, finish something and finish it strong.

So, this is the post I want to start back with. The longer the silence, the harder it is to crack your lips to speak.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

