An “Oops” or Smart Email and Content Marketing?

18 August, 2012

best practices, web content

Yesterday I spotted this subject line while scanning my email inbox:

What did I do? I opened it to see what I had erroneously been sent….

Bronto software email explaining an error in sending,  or really smart marketing?

What did I do then?

I went back to my overstuffed inbox and now looked specifically for the email I’d been sent “in error”–the one that contained this “Best Practice Digest.” In my zeal, I passed over a couple dozen other emails that will likely be trashed and never opened :

email inbox subject link - smart marketing

This was not a report, per se, but a link to a blog post. I skimmed the blog post, but my immediate drive was to find this best practices report that I still believed at this point was UNintended for my eyes.

When I found the link, near the bottom of the blog post, I clicked and opened a PDF: “Mid-Month Email Menagerie” a Bronto report authored by Jim Davidson, Manager of Marketing Research (“….ah,” I think) — a report on effective emails and marketing with examples culled from all types of industries and companies.

Worthwhile content, which I quickly consumed—(and probably I was thinking at that point, per their strategy). My internal explorer of course is thinking “how can I see other monthly reports like this?” Serendipitously, Mr. Davidson provides a link from within the PDF, the text of which is “Email Marketing Trend reports.” Clicking THAT, in turn, dropped me into this:

company search results lead to deeper content

–Company search results for other “best practice” reports.

Am I really to believe that this was an unfortunate “segmentation” snafu, or should I just congratulate you, Jim, on really smart email and content marketing?

You persuaded me to open not just one email, but two. And then I took action and clicked on 3 additional links from within deeper levels of content. That’s successful, plus for email marketing.

When people believe they have gotten their hands on something that they may not be privy to, it suddenly takes on a value and desirability that can attract followers, drive traffic, and convert, whether or not it’s worthy of those prizes. In this case, it’s worthy content.

, ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

