One Unusual Copy Strategy to Close Online Sales

one lightbulb is lit among many- indicating a good ideaYou know those annoying little affiliate disclaimers any online marketer needs to now include in emails or on websites where affiliate marketing is done (thanks to the FTC)? Well, I’ve seen some of these disclaimers along the way that read as though they are likely more successful at undoing a sales pitch than they are at anything else. You might as well just say, “I’m a low-life sleaze and I’m going to get a financial kick-back for selling you this load of crapola…”

But here’s a new one: This affiliate disclaimer is John Carlton’s. My take? It closes any sale. AND it’s such a solid piece of copywriting showmanship  that I’d be surprised if it didn’t net him  even more clients. Carlton took an otherwise annoying legal requirement, applied his copywriting skills, and spun it to his advantage–FTC be damned. Here it is reproduced:

And here is my affiliate disclaimer — please read this: Occasionally, I will recommend or endorse products or services that are not my own. I only do this with colleagues I trust to deliver quality and valuable information or products, and my recommendation is based on a review of the product, a personal relationship with the person offering it, and/or a previous positive experience with the product or the person offering it.

In most cases, I will be compensated via a commission if you decide to purchase the services or materials I recommend. In some cases, I will receive the product free to review or use.

Important: I urge you to do your own “due diligence” before purchasing anything, whether I recommend it or not. I only recommend products and services I feel are worth putting my reputation behind — however, it’s still up to you to make your own decision, and to do so wisely. Make sure there is a money-back guarantee, and don’t expect magic. I’ve found that getting info from honest experts, and using quality products that are easy to use and actually produce results, have helped me tremendously over the years. I’ve also been burned, so I urge you to decide wisely, as I do when deciding whether to purchase something or not. Thanks.

, , , , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

