You are Not a Good Client for Me If…

You are not a good client for my business if:

A businessman in a suit with his laptop is desperate in the desertYou are looking for a cheapo web copy deal.  You can easily find dozens of “shops” online that employ armies of junior copywriters or John Q. Citizen the armchair writer willing to beat each other up for your 5 or 10 bucks.

You use the word “automate” when discussing online web content. I’m not a robot. I write copy FOR the web with knowledge OF the web. It’s original and not ripped off from someone else’s site. It’s customized to my clients’ businesses, their goals, their customers. I think a LOT about what I do and how I do it. I’m an intelligent life form and you are not.

You think hiring a writer to create SEO copy is about find and replace with a keyword until the text on the page is nearly unintelligible.

You’re not interested in having a conversation outside of a quick email to discuss your web content goals as they relate to your business, even if it’s on my dime. (And the phone call needs to last longer than 2 minutes.)

You’re not interested in what I may have to say — based on 8 years of full-time experience writing exclusively for the web– because you mistakenly are under the assumption that you know it all, even if you’re making a seriously stoopid mistake and sound like an i-d-i-o-t. See I share insight with my clients as much as they do with me. We collaborate and learn from each other. Newsflash: that business model is NOT going to dry up and blow away anytime soon. Intelligent life forms prefer to interact with other intelligent life.

You intend on trying to haggle with me even when I give you the best damn price going for this class of writing and intelligent thought. It takes me a certain amount of effort and time ticked away on the clock to create content for a client’s business (that’s service AND product), for which I deserve to get paid–would YOU work for free?! Dumb-ass.

I had a bone to pick. So now my terms are clear, right?

, ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “You are Not a Good Client for Me If…”

  1. Donna Miner Says:

    Isn’t it amazing how many people expect you to work for $1.50 an hour? I’m always gobsmacked.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

