The Books of Summer

11 August, 2010

books, Creative Content

I remember when I was a kid in grade school coming home on the last day of school for summer break with a summer reading list stuffed in my notebook. I LOVED my summer reading lists. My mother would take us to the public library to choose the one or two we wanted to next.

This summer I’ve revisited my summer reading list. I’ve been focused on a set of non-fiction books. The short stack in the photo… All of them super reads by some very smart and eloquent folks who know their subjects inside and out and have the skills to lay out a very convincing argument.

stack of books

No e-reader here. As gadgety as I am give me a book I can hold onto. I want to turn down the pages, scribble in the margins, underline bits of text to revisit later, scrawl orphan lines of poetry in the back covers if I feel so inclined…maybe even throw them on the floor or into the sand at the beach.

It would be an interesting study exploring the mental threads that contribute to reading lists. I’m sure I could map some sort of mental thought process that has driven me to assemble this particular stack of books, the ideas I have brewing taking me from one author and topic to another. I’m going to stop on that thought.

, ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

