Big Disconnect: Display Ad to Landing Page

Yellowbook’s ad was an eyecatcher for me, sitting in Fast Company’s website header. Looks like this when you mouse over it.

yellowbook display ad with colorful daisy and mouseovers

On mouseover, each of the icons displays a unique box describing a different marketing “tool” available to customers — Search Marketing, “advertise on major search engines,” Metrics Reports, “track your campaign performance with data,” Social Media, “See what your customers are saying,” etc.

I really like this display ad, but the little mousover boxes are almost too small to comfortably read the text they contain (and I have good eyesight). So what did I do? I clicked the ad to find out more. I expected a landing page that resembled the display ad– colorful, smart, a bigger and bolder offering of what I’d just seen in miniature, with a bit more meat and a clear call to action.

That’s what I expected….

What I got instead was this:

landing page for yellowbook

And this page continues on further…Was I disappointed.  This is quite a demanding “call to action.” Nearly every field is required and I’m to wait for a person to contact me for further “consultation.” Is this an effective landing page? Maybe for someone who’s been waiting for a Yellowbook advertising opp to jump out at them. This is what I’d call a poor first impression.

As a web sales mechanism, the combo ad and landing page could have been tied together much more effectively even re-using the following:

  • Color palette
  • Icons with a bit more web copy to whet your prospective’s appetite
  • Re-emphasis of the one-stop advertising package it seems the ad is promising.

Those elements were all cleverly combined in the display ad and their inclusion in the landing page “experience” could have gone a long way in improving this LP. The web copy on the page now? As blah and “beige” as this copy is, it could kick with a little facelift.  It mentions a free no-obligation consultation, a free business listing with Yellowbook and jabbers very banally about the advantages of advertising with Yellowbook. This could be completely re worked to their advantage.

In a nutshell: Give me something that resembles the ad I was just really attracted to and THEN, if you ask nicely, maybe I’d give you my email address, but probably not my life history (address, phone number, etc.). Then you can send me some further info and we can actually begin a relationship.

From Marketing Sherpa’s Landing Page Handbook:

Your ad convinced them to click. It’s a split-second, what-the-heck decision. Your landing page has to convince them to stick around for at least a minute or two and possibly do a bunch of fairly unpleasant stuff….They glance at your landing page to decide if this page is worth looking at. They want to know: “Am I in the right place? Does this match what I was expecting/hoping to see? Should I bother….? 2006 research conducted by Dr. Gitte Lindgaard that was published in Behavior and Information Technology indicated that Web users form first impressions of pages in as little as 50 milliseconds (that’s 1/20th of a second).

As many as 50% may decide–based on a quick glance–that your page isn’t worth it to them….Design elements that can have a direct impact on the bail factor:

Scary-looking registration forms with lots of fields to fill in….

I’d be interested to see if Yellowbook marketers will test this and decide to make improvements.

, ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

