Review Time Tracking Software for Mac

31 August, 2008

Freelance Writing

I’ve started test-driving a couple time tracking software apps. I have looked for affordable solutions, apps that are available with a one-time spend of under $50. I’ve seen one application that requires you subscribe for a monthly spend, but that’s a bit more expansive in features than my current demands.

My needs are pretty simple:

  • basic time tracking program with simple reports and invoicing.
  • Mac compatible.
  • must be intuitive– if I have to read a lengthy tutorial or user guide to make this work it’s just not what I’m looking for.
  • needs to be affordable.

I started with a trial of Fanurio (I don’t even know what this name means). I downloaded and did what seemed intuitive: entered a client name, a project name and hit Play. I worked for about an hour. When I hit Stop the program seemed to record 0 time. Uh….so then I tried to figure out how to Add Time.  When I found where I needed to do that I ended up adding something ridiculous and then I couldn’t figure out how to change it. So I spent an additional 30 mins messing around with this. That was it: as far as I’m concerned, for my needs Fanurio (whatever that means) is not nearly intuitive enough to be worth the time, the effort or whatever dollar figure no matter how affordable.

Next, I downloaded Office Time–it markets itself as “intuitive.” It has a 2 minute quick start tutorial video that’s perfect. I setup my client and my project. This morning when I went to work on this client’s project I hit Play. When I was finished I hit Stop. The app recorded the exact time I worked and I figured out easily how to apply my hourly rate so it calculates that, as well. Now this is intuitive. I believe when my trial is expired I’ll have to pay $47 if I want to keep the program. If my trial run keeps going this well I’ll be glad to pay it.

(photo copyright jeltovski)

, , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Review Time Tracking Software for Mac”

  1. Cosmina Stefanache Says:

    Hi Jennifer,

    My name is Cosmina Stefanache and I’m the Product Marketing Manager for Fanurio. First of all, I’d like to thank you for trying out our application. If it’s fine by you, I would like to make some comments about your post.

    1. “I downloaded and did what seemed intuitive: entered a client name, a project name and hit Play. When I hit Stop the program seemed to record 0 time.”

    Right after you start the timer (hit Play), Fanurio shows the elapsed time in the status bar. When you stop the timer (hit Stop), it asks you to add that time to a project item using the “Add Time” dialog. You can add time to an existing project item or you can create a new one.

    2. “When I found where I needed to do that I ended up adding something ridiculous and then I couldn’t figure out how to change it.”

    If you added time to a project item and you want to change it, edit the item and go to the Time tab to make this change.

    3. “I don’t even know what this name means”

    How we chose the application name is a longer story. In short, Fanurio is one of the characters from the novel “Zorba the Greek”. The name Fanurio comes from the word Phanourios which is a Greek word. Fanerono means “I reveal”. Its root is phainein, phan-, which means “to show”.

    We’ve thought that since the root of the name means “to show”, Fanurio could be perceived as an application that helps freelancers see all hidden time that in many cases is lost and not paid.

    Reply

  2. jrotman Says:

    Cosmina,

    Thank you for providing deeper insight into Fanurio, particularly the name. I hope your user tips might assist other readers interested in trying out your product. What’s contrary for one may be quite intuitive for another.
    -Jennifer

    Reply

  3. John Says:

    Check out the free plan offered by Intervals, which you can use to track time on a project.

    Reply

  4. Stephen Says:

    Glad you are enjoying OfficeTime so far. We believe it feels right because we spent a lot of effort refining it based on comments from people like you. Elegance should always take priority over features.

    I’d be happy to hear further comments here or by contacting me through the help menu in OfficeTime.

    Reply

  5. Wrike Says:

    Most of the applications can also handle tasks related with a task and can even assign project to specific clients that have specific needs. A sophisticated task, time tracking is fundamental, after all, this is how you earn your dollars.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

