Why the Olympics are Such a Good Tie-In for Advertisers and Copywriters

5 August, 2008

advertising, Copywriting, keywords

I’ve noticed two effective ad campaigns recently that build on the images and emotions behind the Olympic Games. 24 Hour Fitness managed to launch a televised ad campaign that worked for me, and a newsletter from Bank of America that landed in my Inbox this a.m. also squeaked by. When I say it “worked for me,” I am admitting the urge to join, call, sign-up for–take the action intended by the sales pitch.

Lets see what I can draw from the BOA newsletter copy:

The main pull is to provide tips for shaping up your summertime finances. Here are the “athletic” keywords I pulled. Notice the very last word on my list–this is the closing keyword of the newsletter, what all the others lead up to, and for this particular pitch–what the “world class athlete bank account” finally equals:

shape up
trim
cut
condition
control
gain
come out ahead
financial diet
rules
game
success
= wealth

nice trail of bread crumbs there.

Want to see the BOA newsletter I’ve just broken apart?

, , , , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

