Building Powerful Language into Your Research Writing

8 October, 2007

web content, Writing tips

A simple trick I’ve found when conducting initial research for a specific topic is to include a running list of keywords and phrases somewhere visually distinctive in my outline.

As I mine data I note industry- or subject specific words that offer impact or dynamism to the topic. For example, I was doing research on undergrad research programs, so I started a short list of keywords in my outline that I culled from a variety of resources I had just plowed through: collegial, interdisciplinary, pedagogy, plus a slew of others that might give my writing a unique flexibility and more granular meaning in the realm of the topic I was preparing to write on.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Building Powerful Language into Your Research Writing”

  1. upfire Says:

    Thanks. Idea Rover 2.0 http://www.idearover.com prepares outline-structured notes and saves your time by eliminating tedious work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

